The Foundation

photo I.D. l to r Jim Wachtler, CIYC Commodore, Kirk MacInnis, CIYC director , Dan Huncke, director Community Services. 2nd row, Jim McCampbell, CIYC Foundation president, Tom Thacker, brick drive chair & CIYC director. photo credit Lynnette O’Bryan

The Catalina Island Yacht Club Foundation was founded in 2001, the expressed purpose of the Foundation is to benefit the City of Avalon and other local qualified charitable institutions that benefit Avalon and the Island of Catalina.

The Foundation donates to entities that include Catalina Island Conservancy, City of Avalon, Avalon Pony Club, Kid Ventures, Avalon High School Cheer Squad, Avalon Baseball, Catalina Island Arts Association.

 Member donations receive favorable tax treatment under IRS Code Section 501(c)3.. Donors will receive a tax letter from the Club accounting firm for year-end tax deduction purposes. 

 Any Foundation Director will be happy to discuss any aspect of your tax advantaged donations. Foundation Directors for 2017 are S/C Jim McCampbell, Randy Weaver, Tom Thacker, S/C Lowell Dreyfus, Anthony Salcido, S/C ML Buck, S/C Jeff Christiansen, and Dr. Jim Serles.

Catalina Island Yacht Club recently completed a memorial brick fundraiser for People’s Park located across from the Avalon City Hall. Sponsored by the yacht club foundation and chaired by board member Tom Thacker, the club fundraiser identified 66 participant families who delivered their purchased memorial bricks to city recreation assistant Dave Hart for placement in the newly refurbished People’s Park. The final brick to be placed was an inlaid tile brick depicting the club burgee (flag) made by Kirk MacInnis of MacInnis Tile Company.

Donations can be sent to CIYC Foundation c/o Randy Weaver at 20950 Oxnard Street, # 46 in Woodland Hills, CA 91367.   CIYC Foundation Tax ID # 91-214167.